I don’t know how it is with other writers, this writing world we have absorbed our minds to be in, is not easy and at best, can be down right cruel.  I am not a prolific writer, nor do I deem myself to be one, but I do like to write.  What bugs me is that while I am not the best writer in the world, I have my grammar issues and I know that I do, what I don’t like is how some editors can be very, no…extremely critical, mean and sarcastic.  Yes, I did say sarcastic.

It is to be said, that as an editor, you have to let the writer know, what needs to be changed, what needs to be understood in a sentence/paragraph and to smooth it out.  Editors don’t always understand what the writer is trying to get across, so there will be times where clarification needs to be adjusted.  I’m ok with this actually, it is most helpful and I enjoy this part of editing a lot.  What I don’t like is the onslaught of pure sarcasm, being overly critical to the point of being just rude and mean.  Not only does it make the editors personality come across as being a jerk, but one who really hadn’t read the story thoroughly enough to understand what the writer was trying to get across or just maybe…jealousy?  I don’t know, whatever it was for an editor to act in such a demeaning way, is not the professional way at all.

So, if you wish to be a writer, you need to know that its not a nice world out there and you will come across people like this.  What I would say to you if that happens, is to take it all in stride and move on.

