It was midnight, as the snow fell in great puffs of white, covering the ground complete.

All was well in the world…except for one little corner of it. A child sat shivering in the wood, holding something that glowed within its hand.

Little light

shine so bright

make me warm

this very night.

Keep me safe

within your glow

till winters cold

hath ceased to blow.”

Yes, I was there, always. The child had no home to speak of, no family that worried of its whereabouts. This child was a product of what this world had become…homeless.

Day in and day out, she would come, the child. Hiding itself amongst the low, lying bushes, seeking shelter from the cold. The light ever present within her hand, speaking the same words over, and over again.

Little light

shine so bright

make me warm

this very night.

Keep me safe

within your glow

till winters cold

hath ceased to blow.”

It wasn’t until the morning, after a harsh winter storm had battered the night, did I see a clump of white snow. As I neared, a small, blue hand stuck out.

